Home banner 7d43


Malaysia’s Queens of the Court

over 2 years ago DenningMR



This article is for general informational purposes only and is not meant to be used or construed as legal advice in any manner whatsoever. All articles have been scrutinized by a practicing lawyer to ensure accuracy.

(Picture credit: Amirol Ahmad)

Today, as we celebrate the International Women's Day, AskLegal takes a stroll down memory lane with a list of women who were the first in their vocation or field.

Those who have forged ahead have achieved great things in their time and those who have just started their journey, we believe that you will be well remembered by all.

Women who were first in Malaysia

Picture credit:

Tan Sri Lim Phaik Gan

Tan Sri Lim Phaik Gan, known as P.G. Lim, (1915 – May 7, 2013), Malaysia's first female ambassador was a British-born Malaysian lawyer and diplomat. She was one of the first female lawyers to practice in Malaysia.

Tan Sri Dato Seri Ainum Mohamad Said

Tan Sri Dato Seri Ainum Mohamad Said, Malaysia's first woman Attorney-General. Ainum's appointment as A-G, succeeding the late Tan Sri Mohtar Abdullah, was welcomed by the legal fraternity.

Picture credit:

Tan Sri Siti Norma Yaakob

Tan Sri Siti Norma Yaakob, is Malaysia’s first woman High Court judge, Court of Appeal judge, Federal Court judge and Chief Judge of Malaya. In 2007, Siti Norma retired after 43 years of exemplary service. She has served in the highest judicial office to be occupied by a woman in Malaysia, marking this as the most remarkable breakthrough for women’s achievements.

Picture credit:

Suraya Ramli and Rafidah Abdul Razak

Suraya Ramli and Rafidah Abdul Razak, first female judges appointed under Malaysia's Islamic Shariah courts. Both were appointed Federal Territory of Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur Syariah Court judge respectively in mid-May 2010 after receiving the consent of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Picture credit;

Pn. Hendon bte Hj Mohamed

Pn. Hendon bte Hj Mohamed, she is the first female President of the Malaysian Bar Council (1995 - 1996).